My Ranking in the 2012 International Pokemon Challenge

2012 International Challenge Logo

As you may or may not know, the 2012 International Wifi Challenge happened between March 22nd and March 26th. The format was Double Battle, and it followed standard Nintendo tournament rules. Nine thousand and twenty players from around the world entered the tournament, and after nearly two weeks of waiting, the rankings are in.

So, where did I place?

My Ranking in the 2012 International Challenge

Four thousand seven hundred and forty fifth. That means I fell in the 53rd percentile! Top half, baby!

Not too bad, considering this was my first tournament ever, and – besides playing one match over wifi, and one match on Pokemon Online – my first taste of competitive, player versus player, battling.

I didn’t even really prepare a team, because I was too busy to start from scratch, so I just used a modified version of my old Battle Tower team. Flygon is actually from my Sapphire team, and Bronzong is from my Diamond team. I had to retrain Bronzong’s EVs, because I realized I had done it wrong. Here’s the team I used:

My 2012 International Challenge Team

I put Tyranitar and Heatran in my battle box just to throw people off, but I didn’t use them. The only decision I made during the Team Preview screen was whether to send out Flygon or Sigilyph with my Bronzong.

Generally, I would set up screens and rocks with Bronzong, and sweep with Flygon or Sigilyph. Snorlax was there to wall if I needed it (he saved me a couple of times).

I think people were surprised to see my Bronzong setting up screens, since it’s not very common in the metagame at the moment. Only one person ran Brick Break, and he kicked my ass. Hard.

 Most of the teams I faced seemed to run pretty standard Pokes – Infernape, Garchomp, Hydreigon – but there were a few people who had creative teams. Those were the fun matches.

Damn Right I Used Garchomp

Surprised to see me? Noob!

I understand that everyone uses these Pokemon because they are very good, and if you want to win, you have to use what’s good. But come on! Let’s see some creativity, people.

Overall, I am very satisfied with the results of the tournament. I may have a losing record, but I am very satisfied with the results. I didn’t expect to do very well, since I didn’t prepare much, and have never entered a tourney before, but the results are very satisfying. It’s nice to know that my hodge-podge team was able to hold it’s own on quite a few occasions.

Leave a Reply

