Dark Shark Rage Quit

Motherfuggin' SharpedoYes, I did rage quit. Yes, I was pissed. So, I’m going to make things right. First, let me tell you what happened.

My son was being a brat all morning, and I was getting really frustrated with him. He started to watch TV and mellow out a bit, so of course I, being the Pokefreak I am, decided to try to play some of my Ruby Nuzlocke while he was distracted.

I had just received the Super Rod in Mossdeep City, and thought a Carvanha would make a great addition to my team, so I started fishing.

Meanwhile, my son continues to terrorize.

I toss my rod into the ocean and, what’s on the other end? No, not a Carvanha, but a Sharpedo! Holy shit! It was level 38, and my Gloom, Sprout, was only level 37. I figured I could put it to sleep, attack it once, then catch it.

I was wrong.

Its first attack was Crunch, which took out almost half my health. I didn’t care though, because he’d be asleep in a moment, then I could use Moonlight.

NOPE!

Sleep Powder missed!

I was pretty pissed about that, so I tried using Sleep Powder again. The bastard was faster than me, so it went first. It used Slash. “Good”, I thought. It’s less base power than Crunch, and no STAB. I should survive this, and everything will be fine.

NOPE!

Critical hit!

Sprout went down.

I was so pissed. I had just spent the last hour or two grinding that ‘Mon! I was trying to get to level 47 to learn Giga Drain before I used th Sun Stone to get Bellossom. Now, all of my grinding and rare candies were wasted! Also, my son had pushed me to the brink, and I did something I shouldn’t have.

I turned off the power.

Ivan Drago's #1 Nuzlocke Rule

Ivan Drago's #1 Nuzlocke Rule

This is against the spirit of the Nuzlocke. There are no do-overs. There are no retries. If your Pokemon dies, it dies.

I was in such a rage, that I wasn’t thinking, and turned the power off. I just couldn’t deal with it at the moment. It was the wrong thing to do.

So, to make amends, I have put Sprout into my “Dead” PC box. He is no longer with me, because I was stupid, and was not completely focused on my Nuzlocke. This happened to me once before, when I was trying to play with my son being a monster. I should have learned my lesson then, but I’ve definitely learned it now.

Anyways, Sprout is dead, and I didn’t get a Sharpedo (or even the experience points from killing it!). It’s a total waste, but hey, I guess that’s my punishment for acting like a two-year old (ie. my son haha).

Sprout’s replacement is Evil Tooth, the Duskull. I’m confident he’ll make a good addition to the team.

Anyways, I am now preparing for the Mossdeep gym. I think I’m going to us Kool-Aid and Stachmo, my Kecleon and Linoone. They’ve been very reliable, and have good Special Defense stats. I might also train Evil Tooth. He’s a defensive beast when evolved. 

Either way, I’m definitely going to grind a little more. Don’t want a repeat of Fortree City.

Leave a Reply

